2017 Visa Overstay Rules Regulations | Visa on Arrival | Fines

UAE has been very generous over the years allowing 51 Nationalities to obtain a visa on arrival at any of the ports and borders in the UAE. Over the years many expats have abused the visa on arrival facility and have opted to do border run’s rather than obtain a residency visa and be sponsored through the proper routes. Expats have also had the privilege of staying on a visa overstay status until they found employment.

Until recently, the Department of Naturalization and Residency have changed the regulations meaning that if you have a visa on arrival status you can no longer enter in and out of the country 3 consecutive times. This includes Airport to Airport round trips.

The regulations also highlight that if you have entered in the UAE and have a visa on arrival status and you happen to overstay, you will not be able to apply for a visa while you are in the country and complete the status adjustment procedures, you will be required to exit the country and re-enter on your new employment visa.

This rule is also applicable for individuals who have entered the country on a tourist visa and have overstayed, they will no longer be able to apply for an employment visa in the country and complete the status adjustment procedures.

The 2017 Visa Overstay Rules and Regulations are definitely in full effect.

What is a status adjustment for those who are unaware of the terminology?

It’s when Immigration has to change your status in the immigration system from a ‘tourist’ or a ‘visitor with a visa on arrival’ to an employee of the sponsoring company. Status Adjustments are required to stop any penalties from accruing on the initial visa.

What are the Nationalities eligible for Visa on Arrival?

  1. Andorra
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Belgium
  5. Brunei
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Canada
  8. China
  9. Croatia
  10. Cyprus
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Estonia
  14. Finland
  15. France
  16. Germany
  17. Greece
  18. Hong Kong
  19. Hungary
  20. Iceland
  21. India (limited)
  22. Ireland, Republic of
  23. Italy
  24. Japan
  25. Latvia
  26. Liechtenstein
  27. Lithuania
  28. Luxembourg
  29. Malaysia
  30. Malta
  31. Mauritius
  32. Monaco
  33. Netherlands (NL)
  34. New Zealand (NZ)
  35. Norway
  36. Poland
  37. Portugal
  38. Romania
  39. Russia
  40. San Marino
  41. Seychelles
  42. Singapore
  43. Slovakia
  44. Slovenia
  45. South Korea
  46. Spain
  47. Sweden
  48. Switzerland
  49. United Kingdom (UK)
  50. United States (USA)
  51. Vatican City